Luis Goncalves
Last updated on | Strategic Alignment

Objective and Key Results: Ein Werkzeug Für Das Mitarbeiterengagement

by Luís Gonçalves
objective and key results

Objectives and Key Results: Wie können Sie Ihre Mitarbeiter dazu motivieren, sich für die Unternehmensziele einzusetzen?

Es ist eine echte Herausforderung, alle in Ihrem Team gleichlaufend zu halten, insbesondere wenn Sie Ihre Teammitglieder nicht mit der Vision Ihres Unternehmens in Übereinstimmung gebracht haben. In der Unternehmenswelt kommt es oft vor, dass die Leute die Ausrichtung des Unternehmens, für das sie arbeiten, aus den Augen verloren haben.

Bei Millennials passiert das oft. Eine Gallupstudie aus 2016 zeigt, dass sich nur 40% der Millennials mit den Visionen und Zielen des Unternehmens, für das sie arbeiten, verbunden fühlen. Es ist wichtig anzumerken, dass die gesamte Belegschaft in wenigen Jahren aus Millennials bestehen wird. Abgesehen davon sollte dies eine Ihrer Prioritäten bei der Umwandlung Ihres Unternehmens in ein leistungsstarkes Unternehmen sein.

Die Frage ist – wie bringen Sie alle auf dieselbe Seite? Die Antwort ist, indem Sie Ihre Mitarbeiter in die Zielsetzung einbeziehen. Eine Studie aus dem Jahr 2015 zeigt, dass die Mitarbeiterleistung um 12-15% bei denjenigen ansteigt, die an der Unternehmenszielsetzung beteiligt sind.

Um dies zu erreichen, hilft Ihnen das OKR (Objectives and Key Results) Rahmenwerk enorm. Das OKR kann Ihr Unternehmen zu einer gemeinschaftlichen Transformation und einem Umdenken führen, wenn es richtig umgesetzt wird.

Dies ist genau das Niveau der Transformation und Entwicklung, das ich meinen Kunden in meinem Organisational Mastery Program anbiete. Wenn Sie mehr darüber erfahren möchten, können Sie unseren Organisational Mastery Test ablegen. Er dauert nicht länger als 5 Minuten.

Zurück zu den OKRs. . .

OKR steht für Objectives and Key Results und ist ein einfaches Management-Tool, das das Engagement der Teammitglieder fördern und sicherstellen soll, dass alle Mitarbeiter der Organisation auf die Hauptziele ausgerichtet sind. Heutzutage wird es von vielen Unternehmen, einschließlich Google, verwendet.

OKR – ein Rahmen für die Zielsetzung

OKRs werden im Gegensatz zu anderen traditionellen Zielbestimmungsmethoden regelmäßig definiert, verfolgt, gemessen und bewertet. OKRs können vierteljährlich oder jährlich durchgeführt werden.

Einer der Hauptvorteile von OKRs ist, dass sich alle Mitglieder der Organisation an den Unternehmenszielen orientieren. So bleiben alle auf derselben Seite und haben klare Prioritäten.

Das OKR-Konzept stammt ursprünglich von Intel, und hat sich schnell auf viele Startups und Unternehmen auf der ganzen Welt ausgebreitet. Dies hat große Auswirkungen auf große und kleine Unternehmen und ist bei Unternehmen wie Spotify, LinkedIn, Twitter, Airbnb und Google beliebt. Es wird nicht nur in Tech-Unternehmen verwendet, sondern auch von anderen Unternehmen in anderen Branchen, wie z. B. Walmart, Bradstreet, ING Bank, The Guardian, etc.

Die Schlüsselkomponenten von OKR

Wie bereits erwähnt, stammt das OKR-Konzept von Intel, wo John Doerr, ein amerikanischer Investor und Risikokapitalgeber, der auch bei Google arbeitete, die Idee von OKR vorstellte. Unten ist Doerrs Formel für die Zielfindung:

Ich will (OBJECTIVE), gemessen durch (ANZAHL VON KEY RESULTS). Diese einfache Formel beschreibt zwei Dinge:

  1. Was soll erreicht werden?
  2. Wie wird diese Leistung gemessen?

Denken Sie daran, dass OKR messbare Ergebnisse beinhaltet. Ohne Skalierung ist ein Objective kein Ziel. Es ist einfach ein Wunsch.

Wie in der Formel angegeben, besteht OKR aus zwei Aspekten: dem Objective und den Key Results. Objectives sind im Wesentlichen die Zielvorstellungen der Person, die qualitative Beschreibungen dessen, was er oder sie erreichen will. Objectives sind kurze, motivierende und inspirierende Aussagen, die das Team anregen und fordern sollen.

Auf der anderen Seite sind die Key Results, ein Satz von Metriken, die den Fortschritt einer Person beim Erreichen ihrer Objectives messen.

Jedes Objective sollte 2-5 Key Results haben. Die Idee ist, die Anzahl der Key Results so gering wie möglich zu halten, da es schwierig wäre, sich an mehr zu erinnern.

Beispiele für OKR Objectives

Schaffung einer positiven Kundenerfahrung

Beispiel 1:

Ich meine, dass eines der wichtigsten Objectives jedes Unternehmens darin besteht, seinen Kunden eine positive Erfahrung zu bieten. Diese Aussage ist ansprechend, motivierend und herausfordernd. Dieses Objective ist großartig, aber ohne Key Results, um zu messen, wie weit ein Team oder eine Einzelperson in Bezug auf das Erreichen des Objectives gekommen ist, bleibt es nur ein Objective.

Hier kommen die Key Results ins Spiel. Woher wissen Sie als Führungskraft Ihres Unternehmens, ob Ihr Team einen hervorragenden Kundenservice bietet? Sie bewerten, wie die Leute Ihre Produkte wahrnehmen, und zwar durch verschiedene Messungen, wie die Wiederholungskaufquote und den Net Promoter Score (NPS). Sie möchten wissen, wie Kunden über Ihre Produkte oder Dienstleistungen denken, Sie möchten auch wissen, ob sie sie erneut kaufen wollen und ob sie Ihre Dienstleistungen oder Produkte anderen Personen empfehlen würden.

Ein Blick auf den NPS und die Wiederholungskaufquote allein reichen jedoch möglicherweise nicht aus, um anzunehmen, dass Sie ein großartiges Kundenerlebnis bieten. Im Gegenteil, es könnte Sie sogar dazu ermutigen, Ihre Kunden um jeden Preis glücklich und zufrieden zu stellen, was später Ihrem Unternehmen schaden könnte.

Welche anderen Key Results können Sie berücksichtigen? Die Kosten für die Kundenakquisition sind beispielsweise ein gutes Key Result für die Bewertung. Das Gute daran ist, dass es das Gleichgewicht zwischen der Zufriedenheit der Kunden und der Kostenkontrolle hält.

Das Objective und die Key Results können also etwa wie folgt aussehen:

Objective: Erstellen eines fantastischen Kundenerlebnisses Key Results: 1. Die Kosten der Kundenakquisition unter Y halten2. Steigern der Wiederholungskaufquote von X auf Y.3. Verbessern des Net Promoter Score von X bis Y.

Beispiel 2:

Sie führen ein digitales Unternehmen und es ist eines Ihrer jährlichen Objectives, Ihre Kunden zu begeistern. Ihr OKR kann so aussehen:

Objective: Unsere Kunden begeistern

Key Results:

  1. Verringern von Bestellungsstornierungen von A% auf D%.
  2. Erhöhen des Net Promoter Score von A auf C.
  3. Steigern der durchschnittlichen täglichen Besuche pro aktivem Benutzer von X auf Y.
  4. Erhöhen des organischen Verkehrs von X auf Y.

Denken Sie daran, dass die Key Results, wie in diesem Beispiel gezeigt, klar und spezifisch sein sollten. Sie müssen die Zahlen ermitteln können, um die Ergebnisse zu messen. Während das Objective eine allgemeine Aussage darüber ist, was Sie erreichen möchten, sind die Key Results spezifische, messbare Maßnahmen. Key Results sind sehr wichtig. Sie messen nicht nur Ihre Objectives, sondern definieren auch Ihre Objectives. 

So wenden Sie OKRs in Ihrem Team an 

Objectives and Key Results sind ein umfassendes Werkzeug. Es gibt keine Standardmethode, um es zu verwenden, Sie können es an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen. Ich möchte jedoch einige der Kernkonzepte vorstellen, die immer gleich bleiben sollten:

Ihre Objectives sollten agile sein

OKRs sind niemals statisch oder endgültig. Die Objectives sollten an die Bedürfnisse der Organisation angepasst werden. OKRs werden in kürzeren Zeiträumen erstellt und überprüft. Sie können auch nach Bedarf geändert werden.

OKR ist ein einfaches Werkzeug

Die OKRs zählen zu den effektivsten Organisationsinstrumenten, vor allem weil sie so einfach und unkompliziert sind. Die Objectives sowie die Key Results werden rasch festgelegt. Dies soll Verwirrung vermeiden und sicherstellen, dass alle im Team oder in der Organisation aufeinander abgestimmt sind.

Sie werden vierteljährlich oder jährlich, manchmal sogar monatlich festgelegt. Infolgedessen investieren Organisationen mehr in die Erreichung ihrer Objectives, und nicht nur in die Festlegung dieser Objectives.

OKRs fördern Transparenz Das Hauptziel von OKRs ist die Förderung der Transparenz. Sie sollten für jeden im Unternehmen sichtbar sein. Jeder in allen Teams oder Abteilungen sollte Zugriff darauf haben, was die anderen Leute tun, was ihre Objectives sind, und wie gut ihre Leistung ist.

OKRs sind dynamisch

Organisationen verändern sich ständig. Veränderung ist entscheidend für ein Unternehmen, um mit der Konkurrenz mithalten zu können. OKRs sind flexibel. Sie können geändert werden, um sich an die sich ändernden Bedürfnisse des Unternehmens anzupassen.

Sie erfordern eine bidirektionale Zielsetzung

Im Gegensatz zum traditionellen Top-Down-Modell sind OKRs zeitsparender. Der ehemalige Vizepräsident von Google People Operations, Laszlo Bock, erwähnt in seinem Buch World Rules: „Objectives führen zu besserer Leistung.“ Sich stundenlang mit auf und ab kaskadierenden Objectives zu beschäftigen, erreicht dies jedoch nicht. Es dauert zu lange, bis alle Objectives übereinstimmen. Diese Art der Kaskadierungsmethode fördert die Motivation und macht den Prozess noch einfacher und schneller.

OKRs haben hochgesteckte Objectives

Das Konzept ist: wenn Ihr Team jedes Mal 100% Zielerreichung erzielt, bedeutet dies, dass Ihre Objectives nicht hoch genug gesteckt sind. Das heisst, dass die perfekte Punktzahl kein Erfolgsnachweis ist, sondern ein Zeichen dafür, dass Sie Ihr Team dazu motivieren müssen, es noch besser zu machen. OKRs sollen Teams dabei helfen, anspruchsvolle Objectives zu setzen.

Es ist sehr wichtig, hochgesteckte Objectives zu haben. Google erwähnt in dem Buch „Zehn Dinge, die wir wissen“: „Wir setzen uns Objectives, von denen wir wissen, dass wir sie noch nicht erreichen können, weil wir wissen, dass wir durch das Streben nach dem Erreichen unserer Objectives weiter kommen können, als wir erwartet hatten.“

OKRs bieten eine sichere Grundlage für Mitarbeiterentwicklung

Unternehmen, die OKRs einsetzen, bieten ihren Mitarbeitern eine Umgebung mit geringem Risiko, um zu experimentieren und anspruchsvolle Objectives zu setzen. Die Leute werden nicht finanziell oder anders sanktioniert, wenn sie sich ehrgeizige Objectives setzen. Dies macht sie motivierter, höher hinaus zu wollen. Sie werden für die Auswirkungen auf das Unternehmen belohnt.

OKR ist ein kontinuierlicher Prozess OKR ist ein Prozess, kein Ereignis. Es beinhaltet kulturelle Transformation und ändert sich im Laufe der Zeit. Häufige Fehler mit OKR

Hier sind die 5 häufigsten Fehler mit OKR, die in vielen Organisationen vorkommen, und wie diese vermieden werden können:

1. Verwendung von OKR als Aufgabenliste: OKR misst, wie Sie einen Wert liefern, und nicht, wie Sie Aufgaben ausführen. Es gibt einen Unterschied zwischen wertbasierten und aktivitätsbasierten Key Results.

2. Zu viele OKRs einstellen: OKRs funktionieren am besten, wenn sie nacheinander ausgeführt werden. OKRs sollen übergeordnete Objectives pro Quartal umfassen, insbesondere Ihre obersten Prioritäten.

3. Nicht-Ausrichten Ihrer OKRs an den Unternehmenszielen: Teams und Einzelpersonen sollten ihre Objectives an der gesamten Organisation ausrichten.

4. Objectives setzen und dann vergessen

5. Objectives setzen ohne messbare Aktionen

So erstellen Sie gute OKRs 

Es gibt einen kompakten Weg, Ihrem Team den Einstieg zu erleichtern. Die effektivsten OKRs sind kurz und leicht verständlich. Sie sollten herausfordern und nicht langweilig sein. Vor allen Dingen sollten sie zur Organisationskultur passen.

OKRs müssen keine formalen Aussagen sein. Verwenden Sie die Sprache, die in Ihrer Organisation häufig verwendet wird, wenn Sie Objectives und Key Results  festlegen. Darüber hinaus trennen Sie Metriken von Initiativen.

Es sollten normalerweise 2-5 Key Results  pro Objective festgelegt werden, so dass Ihr Team nicht überfordert ist.

Wenn Sie weitere Anleitungen zur Implementierung dieses Rahmenwerks in Ihrem Unternehmen benötigen, wenden Sie sich bitte an mich oder besuchen Sie meine OKR Training und OKR Consulting Webseiten.

Vergessen Sie nicht, unseren Organisational Mastery Test zu absolvieren, damit wir die Verbesserungen, die wir in Ihrem Unternehmen implementieren können, genauer diagnostizieren können.

ORGANISATIONAL MASTERY SCORECARD

We have developed a free assessment in the form of a Scorecard to help you establish which areas of business you need to focus on to achieve your particular Organisational Mastery.

Take The Test
Luís Gonçalves

About Luís Gonçalves

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+LuisGonçalves1979

Luis Gonçalves is an Entrepreneur, Author & International Keynote Speaker. He works with Senior Executives to implement his ‘Organisational Mastery’ system so they can greatly increase the effectiveness and efficiency of their organisations; enabling them to become recognised and highly rewarded Leaders.

Comments

Share your point of view

X

Luis Goncalves
Last updated on | Strategic Alignment

Objective and Key Results: A Tool To Engage Your Employees

by Luís Gonçalves
Objective and Key Results

It is a real challenge to keep everyone in your team concurrent, especially if you don´t keep your team members engaged with the vision of your company. It is common in corporate world that many feel lost about the direction of the company they are working for. This is the reason why we are going to talk about Objective and Key Results as a tool to engage your employees.

THE ULTIMATE OKR GUIDE

Do you want to know more about OKRs? We wrote a white paper that summarises everything that you need to know in order to start using OKRs in your company! Do not wait any longer and download your white paper now.

Download The White-Paper

This happens often to millennials. A study by Gallup in 2016 demonstrates that only 40% of millennials feel connected to the visions and goals of the company they work for. It is important to note that a few years from now, the entire workforce will consist of millennials. With that being said, this should be one of your priorities in transforming your company into a high performing company.

The question is – how do you keep everyone on the same page? The answer is by involving your employees in the goal setting. Employee performance increases by 12-15% of those who are involved in the company goal setting, a study from 2015 shows.

To do the same, OKR framework will help you tremendously. OKR can lead your company into an allied transformation and mind-shift if implemented the right way.

This is exactly the level of transformation and evolution that what I offer to my clients in my Organisational Mastery Program. If you want to know more about it, feel free to take our Organisational Mastery Test. It won’t take you more than 5 minutes 

Back to OKRs . . .

OKRs, which stands for Objective and Key Results, is a simple management tool designed to promote engagement among team members as well as ensure that everyone in the organisation is aligned to the primary objectives. Nowadays, it is used by many companies, including Google.

Objective And Key Results – A Framework to Goal-Setting

OKRs are clearly defined, tracked, measured, and evaluated on a regular basis, on contrary to other traditional goal setting methods. OKRs can be done quarterly or yearly.

One of the main benefits of OKRs is that everyone in the organisation is aligned with the company goals. This keeps everyone on the same page and with clear priorities.

The objective and key results concept originally came from Intel, which quickly spread to many startup and companies all over the world. It has a powerful impact on both small and large organisations, and it has been popular by companies like Spotify, LinkedIn, Twitter, Airbnb, and Google. It is not only used in tech companies, but also by other companies in other industries, for example Walmart, Bradstreet, ING Bank, The Guardian, etc.

Objective and Key Results Key Components

As mentioned above, the concept of objective and key results came from Intel, where John Doerr, an American Investor and venture capitalist, who also worked at Google, introduced the idea of objective and key results. Below is Doerr´s Goal-Setting Formula:

I will ­­(OBJECTIVE) as measured by (SET OF KEY RESULTS).

This simple formula describes 2 things:

  1. What one has to achieve
  2. How is he going to measure this achievement

Remember that objective and key results involves measurable results. Without scaling it, a goal is not a goal. It is simply a desire.

As given in the formula, objective and key results consists of two aspects: the Objective and Key results. Objectives are basically the person’s goals which are qualitative descriptions of what he or she wants to achieve. Objectives are short, engaging, and inspiration statements that are supposed to motivate and challenge the team.

On the other hand, Key results are set of metrics that measure an individual’s progress in achieving his or her goals.

Each Objective should have 2-5 key results. The idea is to keep the Key Results as few as possible as having more would be difficult to remember.

Examples of Objective and Key Results

Objective: Create a positive customer experience

Example #1: 

I believe one of the most important goals of every company is to provide a positive experience to their customers. This statement is engaging, motivating, as well as challenging. This objective is great, but without key results as a way to measure how far a team or individual has gone through in terms of achieving the Objective, it remains just a goal.

This is where Key Results step in. As a leader of your company, how do you know that your team is delivering a great customer service? You take into account how people perceive your products through various measurements like the Repurchase Rate and Net Promoter Score.

You want to know how the customers feel about your products or services, you also want to know whether they would buy again, and if they will recommend your services or products to other people.

However, looking at the NPS and repurchase rate alone might not be enough to assume that you are providing an great customer experience. On contrary, it could even encourage you to make customers happy and satisfied at any cost, which could later on harm your business.

What other Key Results can you take into consideration? For example, Customer Acquisition Cost is a good Key Result to measure. Good thing about it is that it keeps the balance between making customers happy and keeping the cost under control.

So, your Objective and Key Results can look something like this:

Objective: Create an awesome customer experience

Key Results: 

  1. Maintain Customer Acquisition cost under Y
  2. Raise Repurchase Rate from X to Y.
  3. Improve Net Promoter Score from X to Y.

Example #2: 

You´re leading a digital company and one of your annual objectives is to delight your customers. Your OKR can look like this:

Objective: Delight our customers

Key Results:

  1. Lower order cancellation from A% to D%.
  2. Increase Net Promoter Score from A to C.
  3. Improve average daily visits per active user from X to Y.
  4. Increase Organic traffic from X to Y.

Remember that the Key Results, as shown in this example, should be clear and specific. You have to identify the numbers to measure the results. While the objective is a high-level statement of what you want to achieve, the Key Results are specific, measurable actions. Key Results are very important. They just don’t measure your goals, they also define what your goals are.

How To Apply OKRs In Your Team

Objective and Key Results is a comprehensive tool. There is no standard way to use it, you can adjust it depending on your needs. However, I want to present some of the core concepts that should always remain the same:

Your goals should be agile

OKRs are never static or definite. These goals should be adapted according to the organisation’s needs. OKRs are created and reviewed between shorter periods. They can also be changed as needed.

OKR is a simple tool

OKRs are considered among the most effective organisational tools mainly because it is so simple and straightforward. Objectives are set briefly, as well as the key results. This is to avoid confusion and ensure that everyone in the team or organisation is aligned. 

It is set on a quarterly or annually, sometimes even on monthly basis. As a result, organisations invest more in achieving their goals, not just in setting them.

OKR promotes transparency

OKR´s main goal is to promote transparency, they should be visible to anyone in the organisation. Everyone across all teams or departments should have access to what other people are doing, what their goals are, and how well they are performing.

OKR is dynamic

Organisations are ever-changing. Change is critical for a company to keep up with the competition. OKRs are flexible. They can be changed to adapt to the company’s changing needs.

It involves bi-directional goal-setting

Unlike the traditional top-down model, OKRs are more time-efficient. Former VP of Google People Operations Laszlo Bock mentions in his book, World Rules: “Having goals improves performance.”

However, spending hours cascading goals up and down the company does not. It takes too much time to make sure all the goals align. This kind of cascading method drives engagement and makes the process even simpler and faster.

OKRs have ambitious goals

The idea is that if your team is reaching goals 100% every time, it means that your goals are not ambitious enough. This means that the perfect score is not a proof of success, rather, a sign that you have to motivate your team to do better. OKRs are meant to help teams set challenging goals.

Setting ambitious goals is very important. Google mentions, in the book “Ten Things We Know to Be“: ““We set ourselves goals we know we can’t reach yet because we know that by stretching to meet them we can get further than we expected.”

OKRs promote a safe ground for employees to blossom

Companies that use OKRs provide a low-risk environment for their employees to experiment and set challenging goals. Individuals will not be punished or lose money if they set ambitious goals. This makes them more motivated to aim higher. They are rewarded for their impact on the business.

OKR is a continuous process

OKR is a process, not an event. It involves cultural transformation and it changes over time.

Common Objective and Key Results Mistakes

Here are the top 5 OKR mistakes that many organisations do and how to avoid them:

  1. Using OKR like a task list: OKR measures how you deliver value, not how you perform tasks. There is a difference between value-based and activity-based key results.
  2. Setting too many OKRs: OKRs work best when done one at a time. OKRs include high-level goals per quarter, especially your top priorities.
  3. Not aligning your OKRs to the company goals: Teams and individuals should align their goals the organisation as a whole.
  4. Setting goals and forgetting them
  5. Setting goals without measurable actions

How to Write Good Objective and Key Results

There is a compact way to help your team get started.

The most effective OKRs are short and easy to understand. They should be challenging and not boring. Most of all, they should fit the organisational culture.

OKRs don’t have to be formal statements. Feel free to use the language that is common to use in your organisation when you set your Objective and Key Results. Moreover, separate metrics from initiatives. There are usually 2-5 Key results per Objective so your team won’t be overwhelmed.

THE ULTIMATE OKR GUIDE

Do you want to know more about OKRs? We wrote a white paper that summarises everything that you need to know in order to start using OKRs in your company! Do not wait any longer and download your white paper now.

Download The White-Paper

If you liked this article, feel free to visit our OKR TrainingOKR Consulting

Luís Gonçalves

About Luís Gonçalves

https://www.linkedin.com/in/luismsg/

Luis Gonçalves is an Entrepreneur, Author & International Keynote Speaker that works exclusively with Senior Executives of 7 to 8 figure businesses on the deployment of his game changing ‘Organisational Mastery’ Methodology.

Comments

Share your point of view

X